Reviews & Testimonials

We often use Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint and waxes and received the following resounding endorsement from the lady herself in January 2019: Another look we absolutely love is when Chalk Paint is used to complement beautiful old wood. This fabulous 1930’s bureau was literally rescued from landfill by relatively new painter, Kirsty Tomlinson from Aylesbury.

In an effort to maintain a nod to its origins, Kirsty has very cleverly painted most of the carcass and the drawer handles in Graphite Chalk Paint, restoring the lovely patina of the oak to the drawers and front panel. The whole piece has been sealed with Clear Wax first, then Black Wax to make it pop. I’m sure you’ll agree – the result is striking!

Kirsty only started her furniture painting journey last year and enjoys it so much that she’s already managed to cut back a few days from the day job to dedicate to ‘flipping furniture’ as our friends over the pond put it!


Stencils add that special bespoke flair to a piece of furniture making it truly one of a kind. We are now featured on the website of our favourite supplier of stencils, Lottie’s Vintage Home which is an accolade in itself.


March 2021: Louise, Ilkley Kirsty was an absolute joy to work with. She was incredibly helpful and created the most beautiful bespoke bureau for us which we love. I would recommend Kirsty to anyone looking for quality service and a quality design.


March 2021: Tessa, Hull Kirsty did the most beautiful job on my “new” old office furniture. I asked Kirsty to source some specific pieces to fit into my office. The sizes had to be right and the finish had to be an art deco style, opulent and luscious. This truly talented lady got it exactly right, I love them!!!! Beautiful pieces, that are not only practical they are sensational. Thank you Kirsty. 🥰


March 2021: Sarah, Lemington Spa Gorgeous piece & Kirsty was super helpful throughout my purchase. Would definitely recommend. Thanks so much !


March 2021: Sophie, Eastbourne Love my Nathan sideboard. Friendly communication over arrangements for delivery. Kirsty couldn’t have been more helpful.



January 2021: Gilly, Chester Love my new bureau, it is a beautiful piece of furniture and fits perfectly into our home! Excellent communication by Kirsty and the delivery was prompt. I can highly recommend this seller and would definitely buy from her in the future! Thanks again, Kirsty, I hope your business continues to thrive! 🙂


December 2020: Peter, Eastbourne Amazing piece made with love! Great delivery and communication.

December 2020: Abby, Sale I’m so pleased with this bureau, it’s beautiful and unique and fits In perfectly. Kirsty was so so helpful and prompt in replying to queries such as delivery cost/time and item queries. This and other shop items are beautiful and customer service from Kirsty was fantastic. Wouldn’t hesitate to shop here again. Thank you! X

December 2020: Amy, Oxford The chair was exactly as described and pictured so completely met my expectations. But most noteworthy was the communication and customer service – both incredibly efficient and personable. I would highly recommend!

November 2020: Stephanie, Dorking Absolutely beautiful piece of upcycled furniture. Kirsty and her family were very helpful in getting this to me. It looks great in my little flat. I would gladly buy from this shop again.

May 2020: Sofia, Wirral Beautiful and practical upcycled secretary desk, inspiring for artistic endeavours! Great communication with seller, speedy and affordable personal delivery to my address which was many hours away for them. Would highly recommend.

April 2020: Sophie, Ashton-Under-Lyne I love my writing bureau. I was so impressed that yesterday I was just putting everything into the drawers and little compartments. Fantastic service both in the pre-purchase and purchase of the item from Kirsty. I’m so, so happy thank you. Sophie

March 2020: Deb, Cambridge Thank you for arranging delivery of a very beautiful piece of furniture today. I am absolutely thrilled with it. It is even better in real life than it was in the photos and looks fabulous in my hallway.

I would fully recommend your business, you were helpful and friendly and I really appreciated doing business with you. I will definitely be back.


Kirsty has transformed my table and chairs and my kitchen now looks fantastic – I couldn’t be more pleased. Her ‘can do’ approach and commitment to getting a great result mean I’ll be a repeat customer. 😀😀😀

At Upcycle Arcade, we often use stencils to add that special something which makes our furniture bespoke and individual. We use stencils from Lottie’s Vintage Home and have been selected to showcase our work on their website www.lottiesvintagehome.co.uk. Praise indeed!

Our first foray into Instagram tagging was with @thelittlepinkcottage and her gorgeous home renovation in the Scottish countryside.

December 2019: Emily, Stone

Thankyou so much for spending time to upcycle this bureau for me! It has been taken from looking like any other bureau to beautifully restored with a contemporary twist using the dark blue. The handles have cleaned up so wonderfully! This piece will fit in so well in my grade 2 listed house amongst other upcycled pieces. It was great to receive updates as you worked on the bureau and keeping in communication about trying to preserve the leather. I will keep you in mind for future projects.


December 2019: Ann, Great Missenden

So glad I didn’t miss out on this gorgeous piece. Looks absolutely perfect, and what an amazing job bringing it back to life. XXX


November 2019: Helen, Bedford

I absolutely love the restored bureau I bought from Kirsty! I have the pleasure of sitting and working at this unique piece of furniture every day. It fits in beautifully with my home decor and as well as looking good, it’s so practical as it hides all my work mess!
Kirsty was responsive and helpful, her husband Jason even delivered the bureau. Thank you so much, I will be keeping an eye out for other furniture you have.


September 2019: Laura, Wingrave

Kirsty did an amazing job painting up three pieces of our tired furniture. She has totally restored them to their former glory and was a pleasure to deal with, she certainly went above and beyond for me as I was also under time pressure to get the job done and I can’t recommend her enough! Get Cosy Laura

September 2019: Anne, Aylesbury Kirsty is lovely, very friendly and very helpful. All her furniture is beautiful and looks brand new and individual. I went to see a TV unit I’d seen on her face book page and didn’t hesitate to purchase. Kirsty and her husband even delivered it for me the same evening. Thanks Kirsty. Anne 😊

September 2019: Jana, Lindslade Kirsty lovingly restored the Jentique Bureau and great to see good quality furniture get new lease of life. The communication was great and I would definitely recommend Upcycle Arcade.

September 2019: Janet, Chichester Really very happy with my new table…your service has been very professional.

August 2019: Tammy, Lindslade Kirsty turned my husband’s Granny’s old bureau into a beautiful piece of furniture that our daughters will do their homework at for the next few years. From start to finish the experience with Upcycle Arcade was great – friendly yet professional, creative yet realistic and we are delighted with the results. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Kirsty – she’s given a tired but loved piece of furniture a new lease of life.

July 2019: Rob, London

Very nice item, beautifully “upcycled” and also a very useful functional piece of furniture. Quick delivery, Kirsty was very friendly and helpful.


April 2019: Shelly, London Very well packaged and high quality stool! Thank you!

April 2019: Sandy, Poynton Absolutely beautiful desk and outstanding service. I messaged Kirsty several times with queries and she responded promptly, answering my questions in great detail. Highly recommended.

March 2019: Jacqui, Apsley Guise Beautiful desk – just what I wanted. Arrived on time in perfect condition. First class service

February 2019: Marsha, London The table is better than I ever expected. Tiles are beautiful and the condition of the piece is perfect. Delivery and service were excellent.

February 2019: Carol, Wingrave Just bought my third piece of furniture from Kirsty. If only I had room for more!

February 2019: Hannah, Cheddington I love Kirsty’s upcycled furniture and now own several pieces in my lounge and master bedroom. The whole idea that furniture that would otherwise be thrown away is then made into something beautiful, and saved through Kirsty’s creative foresight is just quite heart warming, and I feel, makes the pieces more special. I would also like to mention that they befit her husband, Jason’s very professional and lovely decorating. My cottage now feels so much more homely and comfortable – thank you both!!

February 2019: Nicky, Coventry Can’t wait to start writing at the beautiful bureau. Love the colour and design. Stunning!! Thank you so much Kirsty.

January 2019: Rufaro, Chipping Norton Lovely cabinets, and a very helpful lady too!

January 2019: Katriona, London Bought as a gift for my husband as a writing desk and its the perfect inspiration. The colours are gorgeous and and the design is simple and stylish. Contact was amazing throughout and a joyous buying experience. Table arrived swiftly!

January 2019: Lydia, Cheddington Bought an upcycled sideboard from Kirsty- the paintwork on it is beautifully done. I absolutely love it and it looks gorgeous in my home. Would definitely recommend 👍🏻

December 2018: Amy, Bath I love my little bookshelf! Exactly as pictured. Shipping was very fast and on the day I requested. Communication with Kirsty was great.

Nov 2018: Debbie, Stowe The first item I bought from Kirsty was a beautiful blue bedside chest of drawers for a guest bedroom. I then took a risk and bought a Roman style table that I loved, but had no idea where it would go. It now looks stunning in my snug sitting room. I love Kirsty’s bold ideas and the quality of her work. She has also recently transformed an pair of antique bedside tables in pink and white, and a brass chandelier in red and gold. I love them!  I can’t wait to find the next piece for her to transform!

October 2018: Emma, Chester I love my piece of furniture from Upcycle Arcade. The overall finish is extremely well done; painted and varnished to a good standard. It is clear that the seller really cares about her work and her customers’ satisfaction. Kirsty’s replies were instant and the table was sent to me straight away. It then came less than 48 hours later; well packaged. I’ll definitely be looking out for more furniture from Upcycle in the future. Thanks Kirsty!

October 2018: Linda, London Bought a pair of upcycled bedroom side cabinets. They are perfect for my space. Listing had all the info I needed to make the purchase. Delivery was quick and pain free. I definitely recommend the shop and will buy again!

Sept 2018: Rebecca, Wendover Love my desk, it’s perfect. Went to see another desk and then saw the one we chose while we were at Kirsty’s. Kirsty is friendly and replies quickly, would recommend buying lovely pieces from her. Thank you very much.

July 2018: Sunita, Brighton This unusual chair looks great and matches my colour scheme really well.

July 2018: Jo, Devon A lovely, substantial piece of furniture rendered unique by the brilliant upcycling. The seller was responsive and thorough, the desk arrived quickly and really well packaged. Thank you Kirsty, we love it.

June 2018: Sue, Horton Bought a beautifully upcycled table today. A talented eye is transforming ordinary to extra-ordinary. Will be looking out for more treasures to buy in the future.

May 2018: Karen, Tring The writing desk is perfect, we’re really pleased with it, thanks Kirsty 🙂

March 2018: Chris, Slapton This perfect duck egg blue coffee table has given my whole room a lift…the pattern is a lovely addition and the finish is just right.

March 2018: Carol, Wingrave Love my occasional table, purchased from Kirsty. One of a kind, fits perfectly with my decor.

March 2018: Ella, Aylesbury (Very first commercial sale and review) Love our new writing desk! So glad I found your page as was searching online for ever to find the right desk that would fit in to my decor! It’s perfect. Thank you